A PHOTOGRAPHER´S TRAJECTORY (3 – a parenthesis)

After a hepatitis you need some time of rest. I had a friend in Los Angeles, so I went there and somehow I was able to enroll and study for one semester at UCLA, where I took course of anthropology, linguistics and documentary film making. These days are vague in my memory. I left UCLA jobless, but checking the bulletin board regularly. One day I saw an offering for an assistant film editor at Pantomime Pictures, a small cartoon studio in North Hollywood. They accepted me, and I worked there for about a year. Next to the studio was the headquarters of the California Sports Car Club (if I remember the name correctly) where I learned about a new category of automobile racing, the Canadiian-American Challenge Cup (CAN-AM). Somehow I was able to convince my boss to  send me to the races and film them. It was the begining of a new period in my photography. It lasted 4 years, during which I photographed the CAN-AM races, Grand Prix races (during the years of Jim Clark, Graham Hill, Jack Brabham, Bruce McLaren, John Surtees, Jackie Stewart, Denny Hulme, Mario Andretti etc), and some sports-prototypes races at Daytona, Sebring and Le Mans 24-hour race.

Leave a Reply

